LibGuides: Radiologic Technology: Background Information

Background Information

The Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health defines radiological technology as, "a general term applied to the allied health profession that encompasses the use of ionizing radiation (x ray), sound or radio waves, radioactive substances to produce an image, and magnetic imaging. These resultant images are used by the radiologist to help in making a diagnosis." (Source: Credo)

The article goes on to describe what radiological technology consists of, "radiologic technology is a broad-based category that includes general x-ray, ultrasound, mammography, nuclear medicine, computerized axial tomography (CAT scan), radiation therapy, and magnetic resonance imaging (MRI). General x-ray technology is a primary link between the physician and the diagnosis. X-rays are often required so that the physician can diagnose and treat the patient based on the patients' complaints or conditions." (Source: Credo)

Reserve Book

Introduction to Radiologic and Imaging Sciences and Patient Care by Arlene M. Adler; Richard R. Carlton Using a clear and concise format, Introduction to Radiologic and Imaging Sciences and Patient Care, 7th Edition delivers the latest radiologic, imaging science and patient care skills you need to prepare for certification and practice. This new edition includes updates on current digital imaging and instrumentation, providing you with the essential information and tools needed to master any introduction to radiologic sciences class. Chapter review questions and lab activities available online and on tear sheets in the text give you easy access to on-the-go learning. This text not only helps to prepare you for parts of the certification exam, but the content provides useful and practical information that is needed for professional practice and clinical success. Step-by-step procedures presented in boxed lists throughout the text supply you with easy to follow steps so you are well prepared for clinical success. Back-of-book review questions provide you with an opportunity for review and greater challenge. More than 300 photos and line drawings help you understand and visualize patient-care procedures. Strong pedagogy, including chapter objectives, key terms, outline and summaries helps you organize information and ensure that you understand what is most important in every chapter. NEW and UPDATED! Updates on current digital imaging and instrumentation provide you with the important information you need for clinical success. NEW! The latest technical terminology incorporated throughout text keeps you up-to-date with industry verbiage. NEW and UPDATED! Appendices containing practice standards, professional organizations, state licensing agencies, the ARRT code of ethics and patient care partnership offer you additional information about professional opportunities and obligations and prepare you for what you will encounter in the practice environment.
Call Number: Reserves--Library Circ. Desk R898 .I565 2019
ISBN: 9780323566711
Publication Date: 2018-10-29

Starting Points

Introduction to Radiologic Technology by William J. Callaway Get an introduction to the radiologic technology profession with this solid text! Covering everything a beginning radiography student needs to know, Introduction to Radiologic Technology, 8th Edition lays the groundwork for a successful career. It includes coverage of the coursework required, basic learning skills, a historical perspective on radiology, and insight into key topics such as the language of medicine, digital imaging, patient care, and radiation safety. This book also includes the latest changes in the registry exam and a discussion of the radiographer's role in the practice setting and opportunities for advancement. A clear, easy-to-read style does not assume you have prior knowledge of the subject matter. Critical thinking skills are highlighted, with four important steps to take in assessing situations and making informed decisions. Guidelines for a solid radiography career foundation discuss customer service, ethics and professionalism, and professional organizations. Thorough introduction to radiologic technology includes a concise overview of what you can expect in your coursework. Cultural diversity coverage orients you to the challenge of dealing with patients from different cultures in the medical environment. NEW! Updated career advancement opportunities and newest medical terminology include just the right amount detail for new radiographers. NEW! Incorporation of SI units of measurement accurately depict current practice standards.
Call Number: R898 .I57 2020
ISBN: 9780323643399
Publication Date: 2019-04-22
Radiologic technology (Online) by American Society of Radiologic Technologists
Call Number: E-JOURNAL
Publication Date: 1981-
Torres' Patient Care in Imaging Technology by TerriAnn Ryan; Andrea G. Dutton Torres' Patient Care in Imaging Technology, 9th Edition helps students develop the knowledge and skills they need to become safe, perceptive, and efficient radiologic technologists. The book offers a strong illustration program and a logical organization that emphasizes the connections between classroom learning and clinical practice. Fully aligned with the latest ARRT and ASRT standards, this edition covers current trends and advances in the field and offers an unparalleled array of online teaching and learning resources. eBOOK AVAILABLE. Faster, smarter, and more convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and much more. NEW ALIGNMENT! Full alignment with the latest ARRT and ASRT standards helps prepare students for certification and successful practice. ENHANCED CASE STUDIES! New and updated case studies with critical thinking questions give students practice dealing with the types of real-world situations they will encounter on the job. SITUATIONAL JUDGEMENT SECTIONS: These sections build critical thinking skills by presenting practical situations and asking students to assess them based on what they have learned. NEW CONTENT: The text reflects new and relevant advances in the field, including updates in pediatric, geriatric, trauma, and mobile imaging. CULTURALLY SENSITIVE: Cultural Considerations boxes demonstrate the importance of being aware of the cultural and ethnic backgrounds of patients. STUDENT-FOCUSED: Learning Objectives and Key Terms that orient students to the chapter; Display boxes that highlight accreditation, competency, or skills information; and Call Out and Warning boxes that alert students to important facts and common pitfalls help students prepare for practice.
Call Number: RC78 .T67 2019
ISBN: 9781496378668
Publication Date: 2018-04-09

Radiologic Technology

Librarian

Contact Us

Background Information

Reserve Book

Starting Points