LibGuides: World Religions: Selected Websites

Selected Websites

AWOL - The Ancient World Online
The bibliographic data presented herein has been programmatically extracted from the content of AWOL - The Ancient World Online (ISSN 2156-2253) and formatted in accordance with a structured data model.
Berkley Center for Religion, Peace & World Affairs
The Berkley Center for Religion, Peace, and World Affairs seeks a more just and peaceful world by deepening knowledge and solving problems at the intersection of religion and global affairs through research, teaching, and engaging multiple publics.
DIGIBAECK Digital Collections at Leo Baeck Institute
DigiBaeck represents LBI's digital collections, a growing treasury of artifacts that document the rich heritage of German-speaking Jewry in the modern era. DigiBaeck provides instant access to materials ranging from rare 16th-century Renaissance books to memoirs that document the experience of German-Jewish émigrés across the world in the 20th century.
Digital Vatican Library
DigiVatLib is a digital library service. It provides free access to the Vatican Library’s digitized collections: manuscripts, incunabula, archival materials and inventories as well as graphic materials, coins and medals, printed materials (special projects).
Pew Forum on Religion & Public Life
This group seeks to understand the interaction of religion and public affairs.
Resources on Theology and Ecumenism
Documents and special collections on ecumenical, intercultural and contextual theologies, theological education, world Christianity, and interreligious studies, regularly receiving updates from the Index Theologicus, International Bibliography of Theology and Religious Studies.
Statistical Abstracts of the United States
This publication produced yearly by the United States Bureau of Census provides selected statistics on religion in the United States.
Theological Commons
Princeton Theological Seminary's Digital Collections
Virtual Religion Index
This site is designed to advance research in matters of religion. As a global forum that may be accessed instantaneously anywhere, the internet promises to surpass the impact of the printing press on the study of religion. Gutenberg made possible the family Bible. The WWW puts a global library of free information on the desk of anyone with a computer & internet access.

The CRAP Test

Currency

How recent is the information?
How recently has the website been updated?
Is it current enough for your topic?

Reliability

What kind of information is included in the resource?
Is content of the resource primarily opinion? Is is balanced?
Does the creator provide references or sources for data or quotations?

Authority

Who is the creator or author?
What are the credentials?
Who is the publisher or sponsor?
Are they reputable?
What is the publisher's interest (if any) in this information?
Are there advertisements on the website?

Purpose/Point of View

Is this fact or opinion?
Is it biased?
Is the creator/author trying to sell you something?

From Ohio Universities Library LibGuide Toolbox: http://libguides.library.ohiou.edu/content.php?pid=55785&sid=430665