LibGuides: Nursing : Background Information

Background Information

Nursing is an extensive and versatile field in which it is important to stay up-to-date with current theory and techniques. Find within this guide background information on anatomy, physiology, disease states, and treatments; analytical articles on the efficacy of practices and theoretical basis of techniques; and resources to help connect you to the professional organizations and information that will help you throughout your career.

Study Prep Books

Neuroscience Certification Review for Nurses by Kendra Menzies Kent Goes beyond memorization with a Learn-Recall-Apply style content review to promote critical thinking This innovative review for nurses preparing for the Certified Neuroscience Registered Nurse exam mirrors the test-format blueprint, focusing on the specific subject matter on the exam. It is carefully calibrated to provide an effective balance of clinical judgment-enhancing content review in the form of unfolding questions, answers, rationales, and hints to enhance the critical reasoning process. Following the review chapters, a practice exam of 220 randomized Q&As can be taken to simulate the actual certification exam. This "Think in Questions" content review is designed to help readers anticipate the kind of questions that will be asked and to promote critical thinking throughout the exam. Topical "bite-size" sections and plentiful tables and charts facilitate learning and memorization. An introductory chapter includes sections devoted to test-taking skills and practices, specific guidance for taking the Certified Neuroscience Registered Nurse exam, and an exploration of the journey toward certification.KEY FEATURESFamiliarizes the test-taker with the world of certificationsProvides important background on the Certified Neuroscience Registered Nurse examProvides proven test-taking and exam preparation skillsClosely mirrors exam content blueprintContains 450 exam-style Q&As with rationales Springer Publishing Company recognizes that the Certified Neuroscience Registered Nurse (CNRN(R)) exam is a registered service mark of the American Board of Neuroscience Nursing (ABNN). The American Board of Neuroscience Nursing neither sponsors nor endorses this product.
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 9780826188182
Publication Date: 2019-10-28
Certified Hospice and Palliative Nurse (Chpn) Exam Review by Patricia Moyle Wright (Editor) The comprehensive, authoritative study guide for the CHPN(R) certification exam This must-have study guide for nurses seeking to obtain Certified Hospice and Palliative Nurse (CHPN(R)) status provides state-of-the-art information about all aspects of this specialty. It features over 300 carefully selected Q&As that offer a detailed rationale for each question, along with tips and strategies to promote exam mastery and frequently asked questions about the exam. Additional questions are arranged in chapters mirroring the exam blueprint and the number of questions for each category correlates with the exam matrix. Case-based scenarios embodied within the questions facilitate the application of knowledge in a problem-solving format. A complete practice exam is included as well. Brief topical reviews address hospice and palliative care nursing practice in all of its dimensions, including physical, spiritual, and psychosocial. The resource highlights information that forms the basis of end-of-life care, such as communication and family-centered care. Additionally, high-level skills used by hospice and palliative care nurses, such as drug and dosage conversion and the use of infusion therapy, are covered as well. Key Features: Provides concise, up-to-date knowledge on all aspects of the specialtyIncludes information about the exam, answers to commonly asked questions, and tips and strategies for exam masteryOver 150 Q&As spread throughout the text to reinforce content review as you studyProvides a final comprehensive practice exam that offers 150 Q&As that mirror the exam format, with answers and detailed rationales
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 9780826119698
Publication Date: 2019-08-28
Nursing OSCEs by Catherine Cabellero; Fiona Creed (Editor); Clare Gochmanski (Editor); Jane Lovegrove (Editor) In order to succeed in an Objective Structured Clinical Examination (OSCE), nursing students need to know not just what an OSCE involves, but how to undertake the skill correctly at each OSCE station. This book is a complete guide on how to prepare for an OSCE with step-by-step instructionsfor the ten most common OSCE stations that nursing students can face.Specific stations range from asceptic non-touch technique, communication and observations, to more highly pressured skills such as medication administration, resuscitation and assessing a deteriorating patient. Nursing OSCEs: A Complete Guide to Exam Success covers these skills and more in a clearlystructured and concise way. Each OSCE chapter outlines:DT Key revision material enabling quick and complete revisionDT Step by step instructions on how to perform the skill in an OSCE,DT An example examiners marking sheet, so studetns know the criteria they will be measured againstDT Typical questions an examiner may ask and suggested answersDT Common errors to avoid and top tips for success.With over 70 illustrations and videos of four OSCE stations, it demonstrates how to pass key stations. Bonus online material includes colour photographs and Powerpoints for revision at a href="http://ww.oxfordtextbooks.co.uk/orc/cabellero/"http://www.oxfordtextbooks.co.uk/orc/cabellero//aThis book is ideal for nursing students preparing for OSCE as well as for lecturers, mentors and practising nurses involved in student education.
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 0199693587
Publication Date: 2012-03-21
Oncology Nursing Review by Connie Henke Yarbro; Debra Wujcik; Barbara Holmes Gobel Oncology Nursing Review, Sixth Edition is an indispensable study guide for oncology nurses studying for the Oncology Certified Nurse (OCN®) exam offered by the Oncology Nursing Certification Corporation (ONCC). Completely updated and revised to reflect the latest OCN® Test Blueprint, it focuses on the areas covered in the exam, including:* Care Continuum* Oncology Nursing Practice* Treatment Modalities* Symptom Management and Palliative Care* Oncologic Emergencies* Psychosocial Dimensions of CareThe Sixth Edition offers more than 1,000 practice questions with comprehensive answer rationales. Also included are helpful page references to the classic texts, Cancer Nursing: Principles and Practice, Eighth Edition and Cancer Symptom Management, Fourth Edition, for additional information.
Call Number: RC266 .Y366 2020
ISBN: 9781284144925
Publication Date: 2018-10-04
NCLEX-RN by Diane Billings; Desiree Hensel LIPPINCOTT Q&A REVIEW FOR NCLEX-RN, 13E is designed to help pre-licensure nursing students prepare to take the licensing examination. The book has more than 6,000 questions reviewing the four major content areas of pre-licensure programs: obstetrics, pediatrics, medical-surgical, and mental health nursing. The textbook also includes six comprehensive examinations to provide students a realistic example of the NCLECX-RN test, in which items are randomized by subject area and difficulty, and an additional new examination focused specifically on the challenging content area of pharmacology. The questions align with the 2019 National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN) test plan and are written in the style used on the licensing examination, with heavy emphasis on alignment of content with the NCSBN's Practice Analysis and associated Activity Statements. Other features include the use of all the types of alternate-format questions found on the licensing examination, detailed rationales for both correct and incorrect answers, information about the NCLEX-RN, study tips, and a Content Mastery and Test-Taking Self Analysis grid by which students can chart their own progress and modify study as needed.
Call Number: RT55 .B55 2020
ISBN: 9781975104665
Publication Date: 2019-04-09
HESI Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN Examination by HESI Get ready to pass both the HESI exit exam and the NCLEX-RN® exam! HESI Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN® Examination, 6th Edition provides a complete, all-in-one review of the information you need to know. Written in an easy-to-read outline format, this study guide reviews content by concepts and clinical areas. Along the way, valuable tips from HESI help you apply principles of clinical decision-making and critical thinking. With more than 900 practice questions in both study and exam formats, the Evolve companion website lets you practice test-taking in the same electronic format you will experience on your nursing school exit exam and on the NCLEX-RN exam. Over 900 NCLEX practice questions on the Evolve website include alternate item formats, simulating the experience of taking the nursing school exit exam and the NCLEX-RN exam. HESI Hint boxes highlight important clinical information and concepts commonly tested on the NCLEX-RN exam. Critical thinking study questions include answers and rationales, reinforcing your understanding of key concepts and content. Fill-in-the-blank and prioritizing questions mirror the alternate item format item types included on the NCLEX-RN exam. Chapters organized by clinical area make it easier to search for review topics. Consistent chapter format makes it easy to find the topics within each chapter.  Pharmacology tables summarize the need-to-know drug therapy content emphasized on the NCLEX-RN exam. NEW! UPDATED content includes clinical updates and reflects the latest NCLEX-RN test plan. NEW! Additional 300 NCLEX practice questions on the Evolve companion website help you prepare more effectively for the HESI exit exam and for the NCLEX-RN exam. NEW! Clinical Judgment Scenario includes practice Next Generation NCLEX question types.
Call Number: RT55 .E96 2020
ISBN: 9780323582452
Publication Date: 2019-09-19
HESI A2 Practice Test Questions 2019-2020 by Accepted You probably think this is a typical study guide. However, Accepted, Inc.'s unofficial HESI A2 Practice Test Questions 2019-2020: 4 Full-Length Practice Tests for the HESI Admission Assessment Exam isn't like other study guides. Because we know you value your time, our unofficial study guide includes a quick yet full review of everything on the test with real examples, graphics, and information. Accepted, Inc.'s NEW HESI A2 Practice Test Questions 2019-2020 gives you the edge you need to score higher and pass the first time. The Health Education Systems Incorporated (HESI) was not involved in the creation or production of this product, is not in any way affiliated with Accepted, Inc., and does not sponsor or endorse this product. Accepted, Inc.'s HESI A2 Practice Test Questions 2019-2020 offers: A full review of what you need to know for the HESI Admission Assessment exam Practice questions for you to practice and improve Test tips and strategies to help you score higher Accepted Inc.'s HESI A2 Practice Test Questions 2019-2020 covers: Practice Test One Practice Test Two Practice Test Three Practice Test Four ...and also includes 4 FULL practice tests
Call Number: RT55 .H485 2019
ISBN: 9781635305692
Publication Date: 2019-06-04
HESI Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-PN® Examination by HESI A comprehensive, all-in-one review of the information you need to know to pass your nursing exams! Updated with the latest test plan and written in an easy-to-read outline format, HESI Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-PN® Examination, 6th Edition prepares you for success on both the HESI exit exam and the NCLEX-PN®. This trusted guide breaks down chapters by clinical areas and the concepts emphasized on the NCLEX-PN® exam, so you can easily search for various topics to review. Rationales are provided for any incorrect answers or areas of weakness to help strengthen your understanding. The companion Evolve website also offers 750 practice questions, including alternate item formats, in both study and exam modes to give you valuable practice using the same electronic testing format you will face on the nursing school exit exam and on the NCLEX-PN® exam. HESI Hint boxes spotlight important clinical information and concepts commonly tested on the NCLEX-PN® exam. 750 NCLEX practice questions on the companion Evolve website include alternate item formats to provide a testing experience similar to the HESI exit exam and the NCLEX-PN® exam. Pharmacology tables highlight the need-to-know drug therapy content emphasized on the NCLEX-PN® exam. Critical thinking study questions with rationales reinforce key concepts and content. Chapters organized by clinical area enable you to easily search for various topics to review. Consistent format and chapter organization make it easy to move between topics when reviewing. NEW! Thoroughly updated content incorporates clinical updates and reflects the latest NCLEX-PN® test plan. EXPANDED! 200 additional NCLEX practice questions on the Evolve site assist you with practice.
Call Number: RT62 .H44 2021
ISBN: 9780323653480
Publication Date: 2020-02-26
Master the NCLEX-PN by Peterson's Peterson's Master the NCLEX-PN is a comprehensive guide that helps prospective nursing students score their best on the licensing exam to become a practical nurse. With a review of the Practical Nursing studies content in outline form, this self-tutoring guide gives students valuable practice with the content they can expect to see on the actual exam. The guide also includes information about basic nursing concepts, nursing procedures, and pharmacology, plus details about various nursing specialties. Peterson's Master the NCLEX-PN offers: In-depth subject reviews, covering all sections of the test 4 full-length practice tests, including access to 2 online, all with detailed answer explanations Over 500 practice questions designed to provide a comprehensive review of all subjects covered on the actual licensing exam Proven test-taking strategies and study techniques The guide also provides listings of state boards of nursing as well as professional organizations for additional resources.
Call Number: RT62 .M37 2018
ISBN: 9780768942408
Publication Date: 2018-07-24
Saunders Q and A Review for the NCLEX-PN® Examination by Linda Anne Silvestri; Angela Silvestri The best way to prepare for the NCLEX-PN Exam is practice, practice, practice! And with over 5,000 NCLEX-style review questions reflecting the most current clinical updates and test plan, Saunders Q&A Review for the NCLEX-PN® Examination, 5th Edition delivers all the practice you need to pass this all-important exam and so much more! Review questions in the physical book or go online and utilize the quiz mode or exam mode for an even more realistic review experience. There are ample alternate item question types in both the physical book and online. All questions are cross-categorized by level of cognitive ability, client needs area, integrated process, and 21 different clinical content areas - giving you the ability to really focus your study efforts where you need it most. All questions also include rationales for correct and incorrect options; as well as helpful test-taking strategies. This proven study resource has already helped thousands of students pass the NCLEX-PN Exam the first time. Don't miss your chance! Detailed test-taking strategies for each question offer clues for analyzing and uncovering the correct answer option. Rationales are provided for both correct and incorrect options. All alternate item format questions provide the necessary practice in critical thinking and prioritization. 85-question comprehensive exam reflects the percentages identified in the NCLEX-PN exam test plan. Content organized by Client Needs and Integrated Processes provides an organized review for exam preparation and end-of-course standardized exams. Each question is categorized by level of cognitive ability, Client Needs area, integrated process, and clinical content area offer multiple study and exam selections. Introductory chapters cover exam preparation guidance, nonacademic preparation, test-taking strategies, the CAT format, and the NCLEX-PN from a new graduate's perspective. NEW! Content reflecting the latest NCLEX-PN test plan incorporates the most current clinical updates. NEW! 300 additional questions make a total of  5,000 practice questions between the book and the Evolve companion website. NEW! Video and graphic option questions familiarize users with these alternate item format question types that could appear on the NCLEX. NEW! Testlets feature case studies with review questions to further hone users critical thinking skills. NEW & UNIQUE! Priority Nursing Action tips are provided for each question to clarify the most important nursing considerations and interventions for each scenario.
Call Number: RT62 .S532 2020
ISBN: 9781455702657
Publication Date: 2019-03-01
Nursing School Entrance Exams by Sandra S. Swick; Rita R. Callahan Barron's Nursing School Entrance Exams provides detailed review and practice materials that you need to achieve success on the various Nursing School Entrance Exams (including the HESI A2, NLN PAX-RN, PSB-RN, RNEE, and the TEAS). This edition features: A multi-part exam that covers all of the topic areas and question types seen on most nursing school entrance exams A diagnostic test so you can assess your strengths and weaknesses in each topic area before beginning your review Comprehensive review and practice material for all Verbal Ability, Reading Comprehension, and Numerical Ability topics An entire review and practice section for all Science topics, with each section broken down into an outline format for quick studying and sample tests for every topic Test-taking strategies and answers to frequently asked questions about preparing for your entrance exam Strategies for answering each question type You'll also get information about nursing programs and the profession in general.
Call Number: RT79 .G75 2020
ISBN: 9781438012353
Publication Date: 2020-01-07

Nursing

Librarian

Contact Us

Background Information

Study Prep Books