LibGuides: Nursing : Books

Library Search

Search for library books, articles, journals, and more.

Search the library's catalog for books.

Can't find the book you need? Search I-Share to request a book from a different college library.

Library Account Log-in

Login to your library account using your MyTriton Portal username (WITH @triton.edu) and password. Further instructions are available on the MyTriton Portal page.

Recreational Reading Collection
Click here to browse through the McNaughton Recreational Reading Collection in the library catalog. See what's new this month!

Suggested Keywords

Anatomy
Aviation nursing
Community health nursing
Disaster nursing
Emergency nursing
Family nursing
Forensic nursing

Geriatric nursing
Gynecologic nursing
Holistic nursing
Home nursing
Industrial nursing
Intensive care nursing
Maternity nursing

Minorities in nursing
Neonatal nursing
Neurological nursing
Nursing diagnosis
Nursing Examinations
Pediatric nursing
Pharmacology

Psychiatric nursing
Rehabilitation nursing
School nursing
Surgical nursing
Travel nursing
Veterinary nursing

Suggested Books

Translation of Evidence into Nursing and Health Care, Third Edition by Kathleen M. White (Editor); Sharon Dudley-Brown (Editor); Mary F. Terhaar (Editor) Named a 2013 Doody's Core Title! Designed as both a text for the DNP curriculum and a practical resource for seasoned health professionals, this acclaimed book demonstrates the importance of an interprofessional approach to translating evidence into nursing and health care practice in both clinical and nonclinical environments. The third edition reflects the continuing evolution of translation frameworks by expanding the Methods and Process section and providing updated exemplars illustrating actual translation work in population health, specialty practice, and the health care delivery system. It incorporates important new information about legal and ethical issues, the institutional review process for quality improvement and research, and teamwork and building teams for translation. Additionally, an unfolding case study on translation is threaded throughout the text. Reorganized for greater ease of use, the third edition continues to deliver applicable theory and practical strategies to lead translation efforts and meet DNP core competency requirements. It features a variety of relevant change management theories and presents strategies for improving health care outcomes and quality and safety. It also addresses the use of evidence to improve nursing education, discusses how to reduce the divide between researchers and policy makers, and describes the interprofessional collaborative imperative for our complex health care environment. Consistently woven throughout are themes of integration and application of knowledge into practice, leadership and evaluating change, leadership strategies for translation, and interprofessional applications across settings. New to the Third Edition: Expands the Methods and Process section Provides updated exemplars illustrating translation work in population health, specialty practice, and the health care delivery system Reorganized into a more user-friendly format Includes an entire new section, "Enablers of Translation" Delivers expanded information on Legal and Ethical Issues Present new chapters, "Teamwork and Building Teams for Translation" and "The Institutional Review Process for Quality Improvement and Research" Weaves an unfolding case study on translation throughout the text Key Features: Authored by esteemed experts and educators in practical translation of evidence Delivers applicable theories and strategies that meet DNP core requirements Presents a variety of relevant change management theories Offers strategies for improving outcomes and quality and safety Addresses the use of evidence to improve nursing education Discusses how to reduce the divide between researchers and policy makers Underscores the importance of translating evidence into practice to improve health care and its delivery Supplies extensive lists of references, web links, and other resources to enhance learning Purchase includes access to the ebook for use on most mobile devices or computers
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 9780826147363
Publication Date: 2019-11-28
Emergency Nursing 5-Tier Triage Protocols, Second Edition by Julie K. Briggs; Valerie Aarne Grossman This critical-thinking blueprint for the triage nurse delivers essential knowledge for accurate decision-making in emergency triage situations. Formatted to provide easily accessible and retrievable information, the manual facilitates rapid recognition and understanding of acuity levels and their application to patient care. The newly updated second edition reflects current health conditions and scenarios in EDs, urgent care centers, offices, and first aid centers, both domestic and international. It contains important new information on program development, training, and quality management along with useful tips and tools. Completely new protocols, additional case studies, and quality management guidelines and tools further add to the merit of the second edition.The resource addresses a wide range of both adult and pediatric conditions that are system-based and listed in alphabetical order. Each protocol has been developed to ensure accuracy and consistency, regardless of which 5-tier triage system is in use. Abundant case studies and multiple appendices provide additional information to support the protocols, broadening the nurse's scope of knowledge and prompting in-depth examination of potentially lethal conditions. Additionally, appendices contain valuable training materials for program development, training, and quality management tips and tools. New to the Second Edition: Updated protocols reflecting current health conditions/situations in EDs, urgent care centers, offices, and first aid centers Important new information on program development, training, and quality management tips and tools Additional material including mass casualty, exposure (biological, chemical, disease), military care, infections (isolation concerns), behavioral issues (violence), and narcotic overdose New case studies Developing a triage program Quality management guidelines and tools Key Features: Facilitates consistency in triage decisions among different nurses Uses health care resources appropriately and efficiently Sets minimum expectations for triage decisions Guides nurses in asking the right questions, determining how soon the patient must be seen, and interventions to consider Serves as a valuable reference for both new and experienced nurses Serves as a training tool in orientation
Call Number: RC86.7 .B753 2020
ISBN: 9780826137883
Publication Date: 2019-11-28
Introductory Mental Health Nursing by Donna Womble; Cynthia Kincheloe Introductory Mental Health Nursing, 4th Edition Donna Womble, MEd, BS, RN; and Cynthia A. Kincheloe, MSN, BSN, ADN, RN Confidently manage the mental health issues you'll encounter across a wide range of health care settings. Written specifically for LPN/LVN students, Introductory Mental Health Nursing, 4th Edition, equips you for the challenges of modern mental health nursing with clear, direct, clinically relevant information reflecting the most up-to-date perspectives in the field. This acclaimed text establishes essential groundwork then builds on fundamental concepts to instill a confident understanding of the delivery of mental health care, the nursing process and its relation to mental health, and the management of specific psychiatric disorders to prepare you for success from the classroom to your career. -Enhanced! Case applications guide you in applying the nursing process to resolve clinical problems. -Updated! Chapter-ending Student Worksheets reinforce key concepts through fill-in-the-blank, matching, and multiple-choice NCLEX�-style questions. -At a Glance sections highlight or summarize essential information for stronger recall and retention. -Just the Factsentries distill critical details for faster, more efficient review. -Mind Jogger critical thinking questions promote deeper understanding. -At-A-Glance Senior Focus helps you confidently prepare for the care of older adults or elderly clients. -Updated terminology helps you ensure the most effective clinical communication.
Call Number: RC440 .W577 2020
ISBN: 9781975103781
Publication Date: 2019-03-15
Operating Room Skills: Fundamentals for the Surgical Technologist by Nancy Dankanich A lab manual for surgical technologists new to the operating roomOperating Room Skills: Fundamentals for the Surgical Technologist helps students develop the essential skills needed to perform safely and competently in the operating room. The unique format follows the role of the surgical technologist, in conjunction with a patient's movement through surgery. From the start, students are immersed in an active-learning experience that integrates best practices, core-curriculum requirements, and recommendations from program graduates and instructors.  
Call Number: RD32.3 .D36 2020
ISBN: 9780135204030
Publication Date: 2019-05-01
Pharmacology for Nurses by Norman Holland; Carol Urban; Michael Adams For courses in pharmacology. A holistic approach to pharmacology essentials Pharmacology for Nurses: A Pathophysiologic Approach simplifies pharmacology by linking it tightly to therapeutic goals. Instead of learning about drugs in isolation, students approach them by body systems and diseases in order to draw connections between A&P, diseases, and drug interventions. Engaging features and exercises relate pharmacology to nursing care, while discussion of alternative therapies and cultural and lifespan considerations give further context for clinical decisions. The 6th edition adds the most current pharmacotherapeutics and advances in pathophysiology. Also available with MyLab Nursing By combining trusted author content with digital tools and a flexible platform, MyLab personalizes the learning experience and improves results for each student. MyLab Nursing helps students master key concepts, prepare for success on the NCLEX-RN® exam, and develop clinical reasoning skills. Note: You are purchasing a standalone product; MyLab Nursing does not come packaged with this content. Students, if interested in purchasing this title with MyLab Nursing, ask your instructor to confirm the correct package ISBN and Course ID. Instructors, contact your Pearson representative for more information.
Call Number: RM301 .A32 2020
ISBN: 9780135218334
Publication Date: 2019-04-02
Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses by April Hazard Vallerand; Cynthia A. Sanoski Ideal for courses in nursing programs covering drug and/or drug administration. Also serves practicing nurses Monographs provide user-friendly "Cure" and "Care" organization to allow users to find must-know information quickly and easily Designed to focus on patient safety by calling out 'High Alert' drugs and using red, capitalized letters for life-threatening side effects Includes 1-year free access to Davis's Drug Guide Online, powered by Unbound Medicine, a database of over 5,000 drugs and FDA news alerts Canadian-specific content, including Canadian trade names and drugs specifically approved for use in Canada A wealth of online resources including an audio pronunciation library, calculators, and video clips illustrating the safe administration of medications
Call Number: RM301.12 .D44 2021
ISBN: 9781719640053
Publication Date: 2020-05-21
Nursing 2020 Drug Handbook by Lippincott Still THE #1 Drug Guide for nurses & other clinicians...always dependable, always up to date! Look for these outstanding features Completely updated nursing-focused drug monographs featuring o ver 3,700 generic, brand-name, and combination drugs in an easy A-to-Z format NEW 34 brand-new FDA-approved drugs in this edition, including 31 complete monographs--tabbed and conveniently grouped in a handy "new drugs" section for easy retrieval NEW More than 8,100 clinical updates --new dosages and indications, Black Box warnings, adverse reactions, nursing considerations, clinical alerts, and patient teaching information NEW ISMP-recommended tall-man lettering for look alike-sound alike drugs Special focus on U.S. and Canadian drug safety issues and concerns Photoguide insert with images of 455 commonly prescribed tablets and capsules Plus FREE companion Toolkit available online through NDHnow.com Monthly FDA updates featuring newly approved drugs, indications, and warnings Pharmacology videos, audio pronunciation guide, and English-Spanish translator Equianalgesic dosing guidelines for opioid drugs Mechanisms and sites of action graphics for selected drugs NCLEX®-style questions, free CE tests, plus bonus discounts...and more! Table of Contents Anatomy of a monograph...............................................................inside front cover Contributors and consultants...................................................................................v How to use Nursing2019 Drug Handbook ...............................................................vi Quick guide to special symbols, logos, and highlighted terms................................ix Guide to Abbreviations.............................................................................................x General information 1. Drug actions, interactions, and reactions 2. Drug therapy across the lifespan 3. Safe drug administration 4. Selected therapeutic drug classifications Alphabetical listing of drugs by generic name New Drugs Appendices 1. Avoiding common drug errors: Best practices and prevention 2. Pregnancy risk categories: The FDA's Final Rule 3. Controlled substance schedules 4. Abbreviations to avoid (The Joint Commission) 5. Pediatric drugs commonly involved in drug errors 6. Elder care medication tips 7. Prescription drug abuse: Identifying and treating toxicity 8. Understanding biosimilar drugs 9. Nursing process: Patient safety during drug therapy 10. Serotonin syndrome: What you should know to protect your patients 11. Tumor lysis syndrome: A life-threatening emergency 12. Antidiarrheals: Indications and dosages 13. Antidotes: Indications and dosages 14. Selected biologicals and blood derivatives: Indications and dosages 15. Common combination drugs: Indications and dosages 16. Vaccines and toxoids: Indications and dosages 17. Vitamins and minerals: Indications and dosages 18. Antacids: Indications and dosages 19. Laxatives: Indications and dosages 20. Additional OTC drugs: Indications and dosages 21. Selected ophthalmic drugs: Indications and dosages 22. Do not use: Dangerous Abbreviations, symbols, and dose designations (ISMP Canada) 23. Decision tree: Deciding about medication administration 24. Canadian National Drug Schedules 25. Safe disposal of unused drugs: What patients need to know 26. Therapeutic drug monitoring guidelines 27. Less commonly used drugs: Indications and dosages 28. Additional new drugs: Indications and dosages
Call Number: RM301.12 .N87 2020
ISBN: 9781975109264
Publication Date: 2019-04-24
Mosby's Guide to Nursing Diagnosis by Gail B. Ladwig; Betty J. Ackley; Mary Beth Flynn Makic Portable and easy-to-use, Mosby's Guide to Nursing Diagnosis, 6th Edition is ideal for use in clinicals, in class, and at the bedside! This pocket-sized reference book is a condensed version Ackley's Nursing Diagnosis Handbook, 12th Edition that helps you diagnose and formulate care plans with confidence and ease. Using a quick-access format, it includes the 2018-20 NANDA-I approved nursing diagnoses based on more than 1,300 specific symptoms and a step-by-step guide to creating care plans, featuring desired outcomes, interventions, and patient teaching. Plus, alphabetic thumb tabs allow for quick and easy access to specific symptoms and nursing diagnoses. UNIQUE! Includes care plans for every NANDA-I approved nursing diagnosis, including pediatric, geriatric, multicultural, home care, safety, and client/family teaching and discharge planning interventions. Alphabetical thumb tabs provides your students with quick access to specific symptoms and nursing diagnoses. Pocketsize portability makes this book easy to carry and use in clinicals, in class, or at the bedside. Nursing Diagnoses Index on the inside front and back cover. NEW! UNIQUE! 2018-2020 NANDA-I approved nursing diagnoses complete with 16 new diagnoses.
Call Number: RT48.6 .L33 2020
ISBN: 9780323551106
Publication Date: 2019-06-27
Sparks & Taylor's Nursing Diagnosis Reference Manual by Linda Phelps Thoroughly updated with the latest evidence-based information for nursing diagnoses, Sparks and Taylor's Nursing Diagnosis Reference Manual, 11th Edition, provides fast, efficient access to clearly written, comprehensive information about the NANDA-I Nursing Diagnoses to help nursing students and practicing nurses meet the healthcare needs of patients.Each of these 244 comprehensive monographs reflects the nursing process and the expertise of leading nursing clinicians, educators and researchers to instill clinical confidence in any care setting. Units are now alphabetically organized for easy reference. This edition adds 17 new nursing diagnoses, updated information for 72 nursing diagnoses and updated definitions and content meeting the 2018-2020 NANDA-I standards, as well as an updated feature highlighting interventions that meet the Quality and Safety Education for Nurses (QSEN) criteria for patient-centered care or safe practice. UPDATED! 2018-2020 NANDA-I diagnosis and standards, Nursing Interventions Classification (NIC) and Nursing Outcomes Classification (NOC) labels incorporated throughout reinforce clinical confidence and quality of care. NEW! 17 new diagnoses keep students on the cutting edge of nursing practice. UPDATED! QSENcompetency icons throughout reinforce important considerations for safe care. UPDATED! Alphabetical organization helps students find diagnosis information quickly and easily. Selected Nursing Diagnoses by Medical Diagnosis (Appendix I) delivers clearly written, authoritative care plans for every stage in the life cycle. Related Factors sections strengthen students' diagnostic capabilities. Quick Reference tables list diagnoses by life stages for access at a glance.
Call Number: RT48.6 .S66 2020
ISBN: 9781975141745
Publication Date: 2020-02-04
Lippincott Textbook for Nursing Assistants by Pamela Carter Lippincott Textbook for Nursing Assistants: A Humanistic Approach to Caregiving, 5th Edition Pamela J. Carter, RN, BSN, MEd, CNOR Deliver compassionate, competent care in any healthcare setting. Written in a conversational, easy-to-read style and rich with dynamic images and illustrations, this comprehensive text helps you master the technical, communication, and critical thinking skills essential to your success as a nursing assistant. Up-to-date coverage reflects the latest clinical approaches, and a practical format guides you through the decision-making process behind safe, fulfilling patient outcomes. NEW! Taking It to the Next Level: Advanced Skills calls-out skills in the text that may require additional training as you advance your career and are further explained in Lippincott Acute Care Skills for Advanced Nursing Assistants eBook. Updated content keeps you current with the latest state-specific guidelines and 2016 NNAAP skill revisions. Guidelines ("What You Do/Why You Do It") boxes detail the how and why behind key nursing assistant actions. Tell the Nurse! Notes summarize observations that you need to report to the nurse. Stop and Think! Scenarios offer practice for solving the types of complex, real-world nursing situations you'll encounter on the job. Helping Hands and a Caring Heart: Focus on Humanistic Health Care boxes help you empathize with those in your care and meet patients' and residents' emotional and spiritual needs, as well as their physical needs. Empowering online learning tools reinforce key terms and content with engaging Watch and Learn/Listen and Learn Audio and Video Clips and an interactive audio glossary . Procedures highlight important privacy, safety, infection control, and comfort concepts and guide you step by step through essential nursing assistant tasks. Chapter-ending summary sections enhance your retention and understanding at a glance. What Did You Learn? multiple-choice and matching exercises with answers help you assess your understanding of essential information and prepare for state certification exams. Nursing Assistants Make A Difference! sections highlight your critical role on the healthcare team with first-person accounts of the nursing assistant's positive impact on the lives of others. Empowering online learning tools reinforce key terms and content with engaging Watch and Learn/Listen and Learn Audio and Video Clips and an interactive audio glossary is available at thePoint.lww.com/Carter5e.
Call Number: RT84 .C37 2020
ISBN: 9781975108502
Publication Date: 2019-02-23
The Nursing Assistant by Jolynn Pulliam For all shorter nurse assistant courses, especially those covering acute care (hospital) and nursing home (long-term  care) environments. A step-by-step guide to whole-patient care, for the novice nursing assistant The Nursing Assistant fulfills the need for a brief, practical, and affordable guide to nursing assistance in today's competitive health-care environment. This text is the foundation for any nursing assistant training program and applies equally to acute, subacute, or long-term care settings. Following the models of the nursing process, state curricula, and OBRA mandates,  The Nursing Assistant provides 73 step-by-step procedures reflecting the tasks most commonly performed by nursing assistants. Reflecting the latest CDC, OSHA, and HIPAA guidelines, the  6th edition expands the discussion of patient-care goals and cultural awareness, and adds new person-centered case studies throughout.
Call Number: RT84 .P85 2020
ISBN: 9780134846651
Publication Date: 2019-02-15
The Nursing Assistant by Sue C. Roe The Nursing Assistant: Essentials of Holistic Care teaches the knowledge and skills you need to become a nursing assistant. With a sharp focus on holistic care, this text will guide you in performing the procedures required of nursing assistants while integrating and considering patients' and residents' bodies, minds, and spirits. Through rich and visual, step-by-step procedures, you will learn the techniques necessary to work in a variety of healthcare settings, including long-term and acute care. Holistic care is at the center of this book's approach to nursing assisting. This innovative approach is illustrated in the Providing Holistic Care Framework, which embodies the meaning of holistic care and communicates the importance of meeting the needs of the whole person--body, mind, and spirit. Comprehensive procedures outline techniques for properly executing the responsibilities of a nursing assistant. With easy-to-follow instructions, professional photographs, and detailed illustrations, these procedures provide important information for the certification competency examination. Practice test questions, similar to those found on the certification competency examination, can be completed at the end of each chapter. These questions are accompanied by numerous reinforcement, critical thinking, and application activities and provide an opportunity to prepare for the certification competency examination. Practice questions are also available in the Study Guide and instructors presentations for PowerPoint. Each chapter is divided into sections, making it easy to review content in manageable chunks for maximum understanding. Review questions at the end of each section help reinforce the material to solidify your learning. Professional videos demonstrating procedures are available on EduHub. After viewing these videos, you will be better able to visualize the procedural steps you must master for the certification competency examination.
Call Number: RT84 .R64 2020
ISBN: 9781619609747
Publication Date: 2018-08-29
Nursing Ethics: Across the Curriculum and into Practice by Janie B. Butts; Karen L. Rich The fifth edition of Nursing Ethics: Across the Curriculum and Into Practice has been revised to reflect the most current issues in healthcare ethics including new cases, laws, and policies. The text continues to be divided into three sections: Foundational Theories, Concepts and Professional Issues; Moving Into Ethics Across the Lifespan; and Ethics Related to Special Issues focused on specific populations and nursing roles. The text includes legal features sections in most chapters, an expanded appendix of case studies with suggestions for discussion, and ethical reflections questions in each chapter. This new edition will also include an appendix focused on simulation suggestions, heavier coverage of ethics and terrorism, and stronger coverage of immigration and the importance of remaining unbiased a healthcare provider. Key Features:Even more case studies, with recent legal/ethical casesNew appendix focused on simulation suggestionsHeavier focus on immigration and importance of remaining unbiased as a healthcare provider, ethics and terrorismUpdate to national health insurance informationUpdate information on vaccines, polypharmacy and antipsychotic drugs
Call Number: RT85 .B88 2020
ISBN: 9781284170221
Publication Date: 2019-02-19
Critical Thinking, Clinical Reasoning, and Clinical Judgment by Rosalinda Alfaro-LeFevre Develop the critical thinking and reasoning skills you need to make sound clinical judgments! Alfaro-LeFevre's Critical Thinking, Clinical Reasoning, and Clinical Judgment: A Practical Approach, 7th Edition brings these concepts to life through engaging text, diverse learning activities, and real-life examples. Easy-to-understand language and a "how-to" approach equip you to become a sensible, resilient critical thinker with the clinical reasoning skills you need to think think through complex issues and make sound clinical decisions. This edition emphasizes readiness for clinical practice and the Next Generation NCLEX exam, with a focus on systems thinking, interprofessional practice, nursing skills for the 21st century, and Quality and Safety for Nursing Education (QSEN) competencies. Clear, straightforward approach and motivational writing style provides vivid examples, memorable anecdotes, and real-life case scenarios to make content come alive. Focus on application ("how to") with supporting rationales (theory) makes difficult concepts easy to learn. Critical Thinking Indicators feature evidence-based descriptions of behaviors that foster critical thinking in nursing practice. Highlighted features and sections that promote deep learning include: This Chapter at a Glance, Learning Outcomes, Key Concepts, Guiding Principle boxes, Critical Moments boxes, Other Perspectives features, Think-Pair-Share activities, H.M.O. (Help Me Out) cartoons, real-life clinical scenarios, Key Points, Critical Thinking Exercises, and more! Cultural, spiritual, and lifespan content explores the nurse's role in hospitals, long-term care settings, and entire communities, presenting a broad approach to critical thinking. Inclusion of ethics- and standards-based professional practice reflects the increased demand for accountability in today's professional climate. Timely coverage of the latest in nursing education and critical thinking includes concept-based learning; QSEN and IOM standards; problem-focused versus outcome-focused thinking; prioritization and delegation; developing a culture of safe, healthy work environments; expanding roles related to diagnosis and management; improving grades and passing tests the first time; NCLEX exam preparation; ensuring that documentation reflects critical thinking; communication and interpersonal skills; strategies for common workplace challenges; and more. NEW! Spotlight on systems thinking teaches you to consider how things are related, while coverage of conceptual thinking helps you focus on big ideas first. NEW! Information on effective clinical simulations encourages learning through practice and debriefing. NEW! Clinical reasoning principles are highlighted throughout to ensure you are practice ready. NEW! Current critical judgment models are illustrated and explained in a clear, engaging style. NEW! Expanded content on growing nursing trends addresses competency assessment, electronic charting (informatics) and "thinking beyond the EHR," clinical evaluation, and preceptor and learner strategies. NEW! Strong emphasis on interprofessional collaboration includes new content on its growing importance in health care.
Call Number: RT86 .A34 2020
ISBN: 9780323581257
Publication Date: 2019-09-25
Interpersonal Relationships by Elizabeth C. Arnold; Kathleen Underman Boggs Now more than ever, effective communication skills are key for successful patient care and positive outcomes. Interpersonal Relationships: Professional Communication Skills for Nurses, 8th Edition helps you to develop skills in communicating effectively with clients, families, and colleagues in order to achieve treatment goals in health care. Using clear, practical guidelines, it shows how to enhance the nurse-client relationship through proven communication strategies as well as principles drawn from nursing, psychology, and related theoretical frameworks. The 8th edition includes engaging new content relating to current issues, while also emphasizing interdisciplinary communication and QSEN competencies. You will learn how to apply theory to real-life practice through case studies, interactive exercises, and evidence-based practice studies. UPDATED! Perspectives and Contemporary Dynamics chapter revised to be more engaging and link the content closer to current issues and related communication concepts. UPDATED! Communicating in Groups chapter includes professional and task small group communication applications. UPDATED! Most chapters have been retitled and expanded to highlight a stronger emphasis on interdisciplinary health team communication. UPDATED! Safety and Quality in health care delivery (QSEN) competencies reflects current thinking on technology, safety, and evidence-based practice, especially as they relate to communication in nursing. UPDATED! Content throughout text includes stronger emphasis on interdisciplinary relationships and collaborative communication with related evidence based case studies and analysis. Expanded content related to socio-cultural communication competencies reduce health disparities and increase health literacy. Additional simulated exercises and discussion questions help you practice your reflective analysis skills. Revised content on social media and transitional care delivery reflects current practice standards. Discussion of spirituality and end-of-life needs focuses on trust, empathy, and the nurse-client relationship - all central components of holistic nursing identified by The Joint Commission as priorities for patient care. Nursing, behavioral, developmental, family, and communication theories provide an essential foundation and a theoretical perspective for effective communication. Interactive exercises let you practice, observe, and critically evaluate your professional communication skills in a safe learning environment. Case examples help you learn to develop empathy for clients' perspectives and needs. Ethical Dilemma and Evidence-Based Practice boxes help you absorb and retain key ethical content throughout text. Separate chapters on communication across the lifespan highlights crucial communication tools that are the first step in developing a culture of safety in contemporary health care delivery. NEW! Engaging content links the text to current issues and communication concepts.
Call Number: RT86.3 .A76 2020
ISBN: 9780323544801
Publication Date: 2019-02-26