LibGuides: Disability & Neurodiversity Resources: Research

Ask-a-librarian

When finished, select "Clear Chat History" at the top of the box.

Chat reference service is available during Library Hours.

If offline, call 708-456-0300 ext. 3698 or email librarians@triton.edu.

Research

Using the Library Search
To begin a search, check out this guide.

Triton College Library uses the Library of Congress classification for digital and physical materials. Library materials are organized according to Library of Congress Subject Headings and use the keywords associated with Library of Congress controlled vocabularies.

Note on Subject Headings: “Terminology changes, and like all classification systems, the Library of Congress Subject Headings contain some outdated and possibly offensive terms and may not contain the newest terminology.” (University of Maryland Libraries DEI Research Guide)

It may be necessary for you to use outdated and possibly offensive terminology in order to conduct your research, though you may choose not to use that terminology yourself in your writing or speech.

Keywords (UC Berkeley Library's Disability Studies Guide): Abledness, Ableism, Accessible, Access, Aging, Deaf, Deaf Studies, Disability, Disabled, Dis/ability, Disease, Enable, Inclusion, Normative, Normalcy, Sick, Sickness, Universal design.

Subject Headings (Chicago History Museum's Disability Studies Guide):

Blind
Children with disabilities
Community mental health services
Deaf
Mental health services
Mentally ill
People with disabilities
Dwarfs (Persons)*
Social work with people with disabilities

*This term is outdated. The term "little person" or "person with dwarfism" are preferred (University of Washington)

Tips and Tricks for Searching the Databases: Triton Resources

Research Tips

Disability Studies is interdisciplinary.
Distinguishing between medical, scientific, historical, and sociological studies and treatments of disability can be difficult.
Finding sources that fit your research parameters can be difficult.

(These tips come in part from UC Berkeley Library's Disability Studies guide).

History Resource Center-American History This link opens in a new window
Spanning U.S. history—from prehistory to the present day. It includes: articles, images, primary source documents, timelines, videos, and slideshows.
JSTOR Arts & Sciences VIII This link opens in a new window
Journals covering core humanities and science disciplines.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
International coverage of all areas of medicine. Indexes 3,500+ journals.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
More than 153,000 articles from nearly 80 journals. Coverage spans 1894 to the present, nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the social sciences.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus. Contains full text for more than 860 journals, 830 books, and 16,800 conference papers.

Terms & Definitions

Disability-Inclusive Language Guidelines
Disabled People's Association of Singapore Glossary of Disability Terminology
"The essential guide to words and phrases acceptable to people with disabilities."
U.S. Department of Transportation Definition of Disability Terms
The Understood Team "Disability Inclusion Glossary"
University of Washington "Glossary of Disability-Related Terms"

Interviews

Andrew Pulrang for Forbes "How Do Disabled People Feel About Discussing Their Disabilities?"
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention "Disability & Health Stories from People Living with a Disability"
Ted Talk's Disability Collection
"A collection of TED Talks (and more) on the topic of Disability."

Guides & Handbooks

Americans with Disabilities Act "Guide to Disability Rights Laws"
"This guide provides an overview of Federal civil rights laws that ensure equal opportunity for people with disabilities. To find out more about how these laws may apply to you, contact the agencies and organizations listed below."
National Disability Navigator Resource Collaborative's Disability Guide
"The Supplemental Guide to Disability for Healthcare Insurance Marketplace Navigators aims to strengthen Navigators’ capacity to assist individuals with disabilities to make informed and appropriate healthcare insurance choices."
University of Illinois Library "ALA Carnegie-Whitney Grant Project: Disability Resource Guide Table of Contents"
"With funding from an American Library Association Carnegie-Whitney Grant, we have created a list of resource guides on various disabilities, disability theory, and assistive technologies in an effort to highlight resources in these areas. These guides are unique because they provide a centralized location for materials on common disabilities, bringing together resources like popular literature, movies, websites, journals, databases and assistive technologies."

Triton College Library Media

Request Media Through Kanopy

If you find a film held by Kanopy that the library does not have access to, you can send a request form that links directly to the film. Just look through the films you can request, fill out that request form, and library staff will get back to you with information about your request.

Suggested Films

Americans with Disabilities Act Archive "ADA Video Gallery"
Easter Seals "10 Movies and Films for Adults About Disabilities, Accessibility, and Inclusion"
IRIS Center "Films: Portrayals of People with Disabilities"
Films portraying people with disabilities are listed here by type of disability, with the disclaimer that:
"Many of those representations are accurate, many are inaccurate, and some are even offensive. Their inclusion in this tool is intended to stimulate discussion and should by no means be considered an endorsement of their accuracy or appropriateness."

Documentaries

Disability & Neurodiversity Resources

Ask-a-librarian

Research

Recommended Reading