LibGuides: Emergency Medicine: Pharmacology

Pharmacology Books

Focus on Pharmacology: Essentials for Health Professionals by Jahangir Moini For pharmacology courses in any allied health program, including programs for medical assistants, pharmacy technicians, respiratory care technicians, surgical technicians, and physical therapy assistants. Focus on Pharmacology: Essentials for Health Professionals helps students learn pharmacology by presenting small amounts of information and then offering opportunities for readers to apply what they've learned through a variety of exercises. Designed specifically for allied health students, early chapters lay the groundwork for learning pharmacology by introducing its history, legal and ethical principles, drug administration techniques, essential math, calculations, and medication errors. Subsequent chapters offer a structured presentation of the drugs intended to treat specific body systems and associated disorders. Each drug chapter starts with a concise review of anatomy and physiology, providing a foundation for understanding drug actions and uses. Pharmacologic principles are then presented in a consistent and easy-to-follow format, using clearly identifiable question-headings that help students focus on need-to-know drug information. Pediatric and geriatric pharmacotherapies are covered in detail, as are substance abuse, antibiotics, and other drug categories. Updated with the latest drug information and featuring seven new chapters, the 3rd Edition's focused, teach-and-test approach blends concise content with an engaging learning process to help students better retain essential information.
Call Number: RM300 .M63 2018
ISBN: 9780134525044
Publication Date: 2017-03-22
Rau's Respiratory Care Pharmacology by Douglas S. Gardenhire Take the easiest path to respiratory pharmacology mastery with Rau's Respiratory Care Pharmacology, 9th Edition. With broken-down terminology, relatable explanations, and reader-friendly writing, Rau simplifies the process of learning pharmacology material like never before to prepare you for success on your exams and in professional practice! This new edition includes the most recent advances related to apneic and asthmatic pharmacology, twice the number of clinical scenarios, more drug formulation tables, and a new mobile app for interactive drug flashcards. Enhanced readability helps readers more easily understand difficult material. Full-color design makes the text more reader-friendly and helps the learner to identify relevant details within an illustration. Learning objectives parallel the levels tested by the NBRC exams to help readers identify important information that goes beyond memorization and recall. Key terms with definitions provide easy access to the pharmacologic vocabulary readers should embrace. Key points in each chapter highlight important concepts in the lesson. Self-assessment questions offer readers the opportunity to test themselves on content learned with thought-provoking questions that require short answers. Clinical scenarios with follow-up SOAP assessment help readers assess their comprehension of the material. Glossary of all key terms in the text aids readers in understanding the terminology associated with respiratory care pharmacology. Appendices on common units, systems of measurement, and acceptable mixtures provides references to need-to-know information such as abbreviations, conversion charts for temperatures, liquid metric and solids, and a simple drug compatibility chart for drug mixtures. Alphabetical drug index offers a direct index to look up information based on drug name. NEW! Recent advances related to apneic and asthmatic pharmacology familiarize readers with current information. NEW! Twice the number of clinical scenarios engages the reader and helps them apply what they have learned. NEW! Mobile app for interactive drug flashcards provides a more technology-savvy, portable approach to the study and review of respiratory pharmacology. NEW! More drug formulation tables that include drug categories, brand names, and dosages provide a go to reference for better consistency and readability.
Call Number: RM388 .R383 2016
ISBN: 9780323299688
Publication Date: 2015-09-28
Pharmacology for Health Professionals by W. Renée Acosta Ideal for introductory pharmacology courses, LWW's Pharmacology for the Health Professionals offers a concise introduction to pharmacological concepts for students in the health professions. Now in a fully updated Second Edition, this full-color text provides a solid foundation in the basic principles of pharmacology, including the actions, indications, contradictions, and adverse effects of drug classes. A companion website offers animations and self-study materials for students and teaching resources for faculty.The second edition includes fully-revised drug tables (both in print and online), and new chapters in Math Review and Complementary and Alternative Medicine. It also offers students a wealth of online resources (interactive activities, online modules, and case studies) to help them learn, study, and retain the key concepts from the text/course.
ISBN: 9781608315758
Publication Date: 2012-05-14

Pharmacology,Toxicology, Formularies, Calculators

Daily Med
DailyMed provides trustworthy information about marketed drugs. DailyMed is the official provider of FDA label information (package inserts). This Web site provides a standard, comprehensive, up-to-date, look-up and download resource of medication content and labeling found in medication package inserts.
Pillbox
A pill identifier website.
TOXNET
TOXNET® (TOXicology Data NETwork) is a group of databases covering chemicals and drugs, diseases and the environment, environmental health, occupational safety and health, poisoning, risk assessment and regulations, and toxicology. It is managed by the Toxicology and Environmental Health Information Program (TEHIP) in the Division of Specialized Information Services (SIS) of the National Library of Medicine (NLM). A mobile version of TOXNET is available.