LibGuides: Nutrition Science: Background Information

Background Information

According to the Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine, "Nutrition is the sum of all the processes by which food enters and is utilized by the body. Nutrients include protein, carbohydrates, fats, vitamins, minerals, and water. Fiber in foods is not a nutrient in the strict sense but helps to prevent disease and control weight." Nutrition is an important part of being alive since every living organism needs to be able to absorb essential nutrients. Nutrient deficiencies are the result of a poor diet and often times lack of access to fruit, vegetables and grains. The body's absorption of nutrients highly depends on what is going, how often, and how quickly. The field of nutrition science sets out to understand just how important nutrients are and where we go wrong in obtaining them. (Source: Credo)

Print Reference Materials

American Dietetic Association Complete Food and Nutrition Guide by American Dietetic Association Staff; Roberta Larson Duyff The American Dietetic Association has analyzed nutrition research to provide the most up-to-date and reliable information on food and nutrition concerns. Filled with practical tips for all ages, this second edition reflects the latest healthy eating guidelines from nationally recognized nutrition organizations, as well as the latest on food allergens and intolerances, including celiac disease.
Call Number: RA784 .D89 2012
ISBN: 0471441449
Publication Date: 2002-08-26
The Gale Encyclopedia of Diets by Longe, Jacqueline L.; Thomson Gale (Firm) Covers topics such as dieting and popular diets, dietary concerns, nutritional basics, and the effects of a person's dietary choices on one's health. Topics are organized around the development and history of a diet, its basic principles, any key figures that influence the trend, and any public or regulatory concerns associated with the practice. Provides information across all age groups from infants to the elderly.
Call Number: RA784 .G345 2008
ISBN: 9781414429915
Publication Date: 2007-11-26
A Dictionary of Food and Nutrition by David A. Bender This leading dictionary contains over 6,150 entries covering all aspects of food and nutrition, diet and health. Jargon-free definitions make this a valuable dictionary that clearly explains even the most technical of nutritional terms. From absinthe to zymogens, it covers types of food(including everyday foods and little-known foods, e.g. payusnaya) nutritional information, vitamins, minerals, and key scientific areas including metabolism and genomics.This new and fully revised edition features many entry-level web links, accessible via the Dictionary of Food and Nutrition companion website, providing relevant and up-to-date extra information. Expanded appendices contain a wealth of useful material, including Recommended Daily Allowance lists.An essential A-Z for nutritionists, food manufacturers, caterers, health-care students, food science/technology students, and anyone who has an interest in, or enjoys, food.
Call Number: REF TX349 .B4115 2009
ISBN: 9780199234875
Publication Date: 2009-03-05
The Oxford Companion to Food by Alan Davidson Twenty years in the making, here is the long-awaited magnum opus from one of the world's great authorities on the history and use of food. This Companion is packed with 2,650 delightfully written A-Z entries--including 39 feature articles on staple foods--the vast majority penned by the renowned Alan Davidson, with additional articles by over fifty specialists from as far afield as the Philippines, Norway, and Australia. The coverage is spectacular, with the most wide-ranging treatment ever of foods and food products and how to use them. Indeed, the Companion covers everything--plant products, meats, birds and eggs, dairy products, nuts, fish and all seafoods, plant foods, cereals, and exotic foods. Davidson examines famous dishes from around the world--from cassoulet, croque-monsieur, and couscous, to spam, sherbet, and sonofabitch stew. There are over 140 entries on national and regional cuisines (Cajun cooking, Pennsylvania Dutch). Even Antarctica is included in this unique panorama. Other subjects covered in depth include food preservation, culinary terms and techniques, food science and diet, cookbooks and their authors, and the role of food in culture and religion. The book is enhanced by some 180 exquisite illustrations of foods by Laotian artist Soun Vannithone, ranging from the comfortingly familiar to the bizarre and rare. In fact, the common and the exotic mingle throughout, with the everyday (apples, apricots) and the exotic (akee, ambarella, baobab) found side by side. Here then is a true cornucopia, offering all the flavors, styles, and staples of the world, past and present, from classical Greek and Roman cookery to modern Australian and Hawaiian cuisines. Food historians, food scientists, food writers, chefs, restaurateurs, amateur cooks, and everyone with a serious interest in cooking--and eating--will feast on this authoritative reference on food.
Call Number: REF TX349 .D36 1999
ISBN: 0192115790
Publication Date: 1999-12-02