Articles - RHT 102 - Alexandra Dragin - LibGuides at Triton College

Recommended Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database. Includes peer-reviewed and full text articles.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database. Includes peer-reviewed and full text articles.
Chicago Tribune This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive full-text coverage from 1985 to the present.

American Mosaic Databases

The American Mosaic databases and Pop Culture Universe feature primary source materials such as manuscripts, court cases, speeches, treaties and photographs, along with material from authoritative subject encyclopedias. Of particular interest is the Idea Exchange section in each databases - discussion of major issues or "big questions" approached from different perspectives. Users will find information on history, culture, literature, women, immigration and migration,slavery, the environment, science, and much more.

Pop Culture Universe
A comprehensive and authoritative collection of information on popular culture in America and the world, both past and present.
American Indian Experience
Historical accounts and cultural information about the indigenous peoples of North America. Includes reference content, hundreds of primary documents, and thousands of images. From precontact to the colonial era into the 21st century, and from the Inuit of Alaska to the Seminole of Florida.
African American Experience
African American history and culture: history, biographies, literature, arts, music, popular culture, folklore, business, slavery, the struggle for civil rights, politics, sports, education, science, and other themes.
American Latino Experience
History and culture of Latinos. Coverage ranges from precontact Aztec and Maya societies to 21st-century political issues like recent immigration law to cultural themes like coming-of-age rituals, music, literature, and cuisine.

Tutorials: Literature Resource Center

Literature Resource Center: Advanced Searching
With voice narration. Time: 3:56

A range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres. Full text available.