LibGuides: World History: Background Information

Background Information

Important Events Prior to 1500 BC

31 BC – The Battle of Actium
- A great naval battle fought between Roman Emperor Octavian and the combined forces of Anthony and Cleopatra
- This resulted in the end of the Roman Republic and the start of the Roman Empire
732 – The Battle of Tours
- The battle that determined that Europe would be Christian and not Muslim
1492 – Ferdinand and Isabella Look West
- Christopher Columbus discovers the New World after being sent on a journey by Ferdinand and Isabella

Important Events After 1500 BC

15th and 16th Centuries - Renaissance
- The transition from the Middle Ages to modernity through humanism, art, science, religion, and self awareness
17th and 18 Centuries - Age of Enlightenment
- The age of reason, scientific discovery, and process by the way of social and political reform
19th Century - A Time of Change
- Slavery was abolished
- The First and Second Industrial Revolution happened
- The first electronics were coming into existence

Reference Books

Milestone Documents in World History by Brian Bonhomme (Editor); Cathleen Boivin (General Editor, Consultant Editor) Milestone Documents in World History represents a unique and innovative approach to history reference. Combining full-text primary sources with in-depth expert analysis, the 125 entries in the 4-volume set cover important and influential primary source documents from the third millennium BCE to the twenty-first century and include documents that range from laws and legal codes to letters, from treaties to constitutions, from royal edicts to political speeches.
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 9780979775864
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
Larousse Dictionary of World History by Bruce Lenman (Editor)
Call Number: REF D9 .L33 1994
ISBN: 0752350013
Publication Date: 1994-05-01
National Geographic Atlas of World History by Noel Grove A reference text with photographs telling the story of human development from the European cave painters of the Ice Age to the computer revolution. Featuring fact boxes, short biographies, maps and colour illustrations to provide an understanding of how the world and the lives of people have changed.
Call Number: REF D20 .G76 1997
ISBN: 9780792270485
Publication Date: 1998-08-01
Encyclopedia of World History by Market House Books Ltd. With over 4,000 entries, arranged in a clear A-Z format, Encyclopedia of World History provides an unparalleled breadth and depth of information on events, figures, and concepts from prehistory right up to the present day. From the megaliths and menhirs at Carnac and the mound-builders of the Mississippi to the conflict in East Timor and the fall of the Soviet Union, this superb volume covers every significant historical event and location. Alongside the major rulers, commanders, and politicians, many biographies are included for those whose ideas, inventions, and discoveries have shaped world history. The Encyclopedia also provides succinct outlines of the major historical and social movements and ideologies, explaining the ideas and phenomena which have "made history," including capitalism, fascism, human evolution, war, women's suffrage, and urbanization. Entries on each of the world's nation states provide in-depth analysis of its physical location and economic development, as well as a handy checklist of statistical data. Plus, the encyclopedia provides excellent coverage of present day leaders and world political situations. We learn, for example, about Binyamin Netanyahu's stance on Israeli security, the rise of the Taliban in Afghanistan, and the background to Kofi Annan's election as UN Secretary-General. With a clear and extensive network of cross-references, 100 maps, portraits, and engravings depicting major historical events and personalities, Encyclopedia of World History provides the most authoritative, accessible, and comprehensive single-volume chronicle of the human past on the market today.
Call Number: REF D21 .E577 1998
ISBN: 0198602235
Publication Date: 1999-04-08
The Encyclopedia of Military History by R. Ernest Dupuy; Trevor N. Dupuy A comprehensive survey of the history of war and of military affairs in the world throughout recorded human experience; and a reliable, relatively complete and authoritative reference work covering the entire sweep of world military history.
Call Number: REF D25.A2 D8 1977
ISBN: 9780060111397
Publication Date: 1977-03-01
Defining Documents in World History by Salem Press Editors; Michael Shally-Jensen (Editor) Covering topics from Gilgamesh to Ancient Egypt to the Fall of Rome, this volume provides easy-to-use tools to engage, enlighten, and give students a new frame of reference to study and analyze the most important documents from Ancient History.
Call Number: REF D52 .A42 2015
ISBN: 9781619257719
Publication Date: 2015-09-17
Defining Documents in World History by Salem Press Editors; Michael Shally-Jensen (Editor) This volume offers in-depth analysis of a broad range of historical documents and historic events that shaped law, government, religion, and culture throughout the Middle Ages. The text provides in-depth analysis of more than forty primary source documents to deliver a thorough examination of events from 400 to 1400 B.C.E.
Call Number: REF D113 .M53 2015
ISBN: 9781619257733
Publication Date: 2015-10-28
Encyclopædia Britannica/Getty Images History of the World in Photographs: 1850 to the Present by Getty Getty Images (Photographer); Encyclopedia Britannica The history of the world comes to life in a brand-new way in a groundbreaking visual reference from two trusted leaders in the information industry. This stunning guide is a fact-filled and visual journey like no other through the last 150+ years of world history. Its easy-to-follow format pairs informative and engaging text with thousands of revealing historical photos. A comprehensive chronology from Encyclopædia Britannica, the worldwide authority in knowledge and education, includes more than 6,000 time line entries organized into the following categories: Science, Medicine, and Technology; Religion, Philosophy, and Education; History and Politics; Business and Commerce; Daily Life and Society; and The Arts. In addition to the timeline, numerous spotlight articles delve deeper into specific subjects. The thousands of historical photos in the book are drawn from the incomparable collection of Getty Images. The accompanying CD-ROM includes an additional 20,000 images, online access to gettyimages.com provides links to 2 million additional photos, and clicking on Britannica.com gives 20 million more historical facts. Without question, The Encyclopædia Britannica/Getty Images History of the World in Photographs is a newsworthy leap forward in its use of technology to organize and present history in all its vivid detail. It's sure to be this year's gift of choice for dads, grads, and history buffs everywhere. Recommended system for the CD-ROM: PC running Windows-XP or Windows Vista, or Macintosh running Safari 3.  A CD-ROM or compatible optical drive is required.  Most features of the software are available to Macintosh users, though not all.
Call Number: REF D422 .H57 2008
ISBN: 9781579125837
Publication Date: 2008-10-20
Encyclopedia of African Nations and Civilizations by Diagram Staff; Keith Lye The Encyclopedia of African Nations and Civilizations covers the major historic civilizations and the fifty-two nations of Africa in an accessible A-to-Z format. Each nation's entry narrates the history of the region from the early development of its peoples to the political
Call Number: REF DT14 .E43 2002
ISBN: 9780816045686
Publication Date: 2001-12-01
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History by Bonnie G. Smith (Editor) The Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History captures the experiences of women throughout world history in a comprehensive, 4-volume work. Although there has been extensive research on women in history by region, no text or reference work has comprehensively covered the role women haveplayed throughout world history.The past thirty years have seen an explosion of research and effort to present the experiences and contributions of women not only in the Western world but across the globe. Historians have investigated womens daily lives in virtually every region and have researched the leadership roles women havefilled across time and region. They have found and demonstrated that there is virtually no historical, social, or demographic change in which women have not been involved and by which their lives have not been affected. The Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History benefits greatly from theseefforts and experiences, and illuminates how women worldwide have influenced and been influenced by these historical, social, and demographic changes.The Encyclopedia contains over 1,300 signed articles arranged in an A-Z format for ease of use. The entries cover six main areas: biographies; geography and history; comparative culture and society, including adoption, abortion, performing arts; organizations and movements, such as the EgyptianUprising, and the Paris Commune; womens and gender studies; and topics in world history that include slave trade, globalization, and disease. With its rich and insightful entries by leading scholars and experts, this reference work is sure to be a valued, go-to resource for scholars, college andhigh school students, and general readers alike.
Call Number: REF HQ1121 .O93 2008
ISBN: 9780195148909
Publication Date: 2008-01-23

World History

Librarian

Library of Congress Classification

Contact Us

Background Information

Reference Books