- Room Reservations
- Study Rooms
- Technology
- Loanable Technology
- Printing
- ETRC Help
- Programming
- Library Events
- Library Catalog
- Library Search
- I-share
- Research Help
- Research Help
- Subject Guides
Service Alert
The Ultimate Study Skills Handbook by
"We would heartily recommend the book to students who are at the beginning of their studies." Maxine Fletcher, Lecturer, Oxford Brookes "This book's crammed full of very useful topics, information and exercises that I've never seen before, especially in the section on research, which I particularly liked." Joel, Student, Keele University Competition for graduate jobs has never been so fierce. The Ultimate Study Skills Handbook will help you succeed from the first week of your studies through to graduation. Covering all the core skills you will need to help you make the most of your university course, The Ultimate Study Skills Handbook is your key to success. This is the handbook of techniques, tips and exercises. Written by a team of experts and tested on students, the advice in this book will help you to improve your grades, save time and develop the skills that will make you stand out to prospective employers. Whichever subject you are studying, this practical and concise book will help you find your individual learning style and tell you exactly what you need to know to excel as a student: Working out the best way for you to learn Doing your research Presentations Revising for exams Improving your critical thinking skills Managing your time
Study Skills for Foundation Degrees by
Study Skills for Foundation Degrees offers a step-by-step guide to the skills needed to successfully complete a Foundation Degree. Filled with activities and useful tips, it will help students to move from nervous novice to confident expert and provide them with the necessary tools to accomplish this. By reading this book, students will be able to learn new skills and enhance existing ones. This third edition has been fully updated and features new chapters on e-learning and dissertations as well as expanded sections on ethics, feedback and referencing. Each chapter includes practical guidance as well as student perspectives that will help students through their course of study. It includes advice on how to support learning, boost motivation and enhance time management, and covers all the essential skills required for successful study, including: Effective reading and note-taking strategies Developing oral skills in a wide range of presentation settings, including what makes a good presentation and how each stage of the process can be prepared for Carrying out well-planned, methodologically sound and well-written research Preparing for examinations and other forms of assessment Producing a professional development portfolio or winning CV Highly accessible, this new edition is an essential resource for all Foundation Degree students who want to get the most out of their course, mature students or anyone with limited or no experience of academic study.
The Guide to Learning and Study Skills by
Skills in learning and studying are vital to ensure success in higher education study, whether at undergraduate or postgraduate level, in university, college or in the workplace. Skills are needed in reflection, analysis, communication and recording information to produce good work, to engage effectively in a group, to carry out a project or perform well in exams; personal skills are needed to handle time and pressure and to relate to others on a course or in the workplace. This new guide builds on the hugely successful materials the authors have developed over the last 15 years. Along with highly practical guidance on traditional learning skills, The Guide to Learning and Study Skills provides direction for students on learning in a blended environment; the increased use of personal and professional development planning, continuing professional development and work-based learning.