Skip to Main Content

News Media

This guide will teach you how to access News resources at Triton, about various kinds of news media bias, and how to use these resources most effectively.

 

Various newspapers in the background, with the text "News Media"

Source: Jon S on Flikr, used with CC 2.0. Modified by zooming in, cropping, and adding center bubble and "News Media" text. | https://www.flickr.com/photos/62693815@N03/6277208078

Find News

Being a member of the Triton community gives you free access to a wide variety of news sources. Below are listed all the major sources, what they contain, and how to use each of them. If you have any issues, questions, or need any help, feel free to reach out to us at the library and we will be happy to help.

News Sources

Newspaper What's Included How to Access
Chicago Tribune logo

A searchable database with full-text articles from the Chicago Tribune from 1985 to today, updated at 8 AM daily.

1. Go to Chicago Tribune

2. If a login screen appears, log in using your usual Triton login information.

3. You're good to go! You can either search the whole database (link to General Search) or browse a specific issue.

New York Times logo

 Full access to the digital New York Times, including paywall-free website and app, covering 1851 to today.

1. Go to accessnyt.com

2. Follow the instructions, selecting Triton College

3. Use your @triton.edu email to create the account

4. Confirm your email address with the link in your Triton email

5. You're good to go!

6. (Optional) If you would like, you can also access the NYT app. Download the app from your phone's app store, select Log In or Create Account, and enter the same login information you entered for the above steps.

Los Angeles Times logo

 A searchable database with full-text articles from the Los Angeles Times from 1985 to today, updated at 8 AM daily.

1. Go to Los Angeles Times

2. If a login screen appears, log in using your usual Triton login information.

3. You're good to go! You can either search the whole database (link to General Search) or browse a specific issue.

Wall Street Journal logo

 A searchable database with full-text articles from the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to today, updated at 8 AM daily.

1. Go to Wall Street Journal

2. If a login screen appears, log in using your usual Triton login information.

3. You're good to go! You can either search the whole database (link to General Search) or browse a specific issue.

A searchable database with full-text articles from the Washington Post from 1987 to today, updated at 8 AM daily.

1. Go to Washington Post

2. If a login screen appears, log in using your usual Triton login information.

3. You're good to go! You can either search the whole database (link to General Search) or browse a specific issue.
All of the above A searchable database with full-text articles from all of the above newspapers from 1985 to today, updated at 8 AM daily.

1. Go to U.S Major Dailies

2. If a login screen appears, log in using your usual Triton login information.

3. You're good to go! You can either search the whole database (link to General Search) or browse a specific publication or issue.
Other newspapers A searchable database with full-text articles from a wide variety of other newspapers, typically smaller ones, mostly from the last few decades. Full list

1. Go to Newspaper Source

2. If a login screen appears, log in using your usual Triton login information.

3. You're good to go! You can search the whole database.