LibGuides: U.S. History to 1877: Background Information

America at the Turn of the Century Guide

What's in This Guide

This guide is designed to help students find resources on American at the turn of the nineteetn century by using both Internet and print resources. The primary focus of this LibGuide is American history leading up to the year 1900.

Reference Sources

Information on print and online reference sources to give you background information on topics.

Books

Information on how to search for books using the Triton Library's Book Catalog & the IShare Catalog.

Journal Articles (Finding Articles)

Information on how to access article databases to search for articles.

Selected Websites

A selection of web resources.

About this Guide

This guide will help guide students in their research about U.S. history before 1877.

The history of this country starts long before it was ever called the United States, it start with the Indigenous people.

Explore books, articles, websites and videos to get a better sense of how the country we live in today first started.

Reference Books

The Encyclopedia of Colonial and Revolutionary America by John Mack Faragher (Editor) Spanning the entire colonial period - from the earliest settlements of the 16th century to the 1783 Treaty of Paris, which concluded the American Revolution - this reference work contains 1500 alphabetical entries. The ideas, events, people and developments which defined the birth of the United States have been brought together in a volume which emphasizes key discoveries, battles and trends which shaped the era.
Call Number: REF E188 .E63 1990
ISBN: 9780816017447
Publication Date: 1988-12-01
Colonial America to 1763 by Thomas L. Purvis; Richard Balkin (Editor) From the first European explorations of the Americas to the coming of age of American cities in the 18th century, this volume vividly portrays the realities of daily life for those who came to the New World in search of a better life and settled a vast continent. The book provides unparalleled coverage of the economy, politics, culture, society, art, and other elements that defined colonial life. Brief sketches and extended essays on a wide range of topics are used as appropriate to place quantitative data into perspective. Topics covered include: The harsh weather extremes that tested the endurance of the earliest European settlers The impact of the Europeans' arrival on Native American populations and cultures Colonization and regional settlement patterns, including the first permanent English settlement in America founded at Jamestown in 1607 The Mayflower Compact of 1607 and the establishment of a legal basis for a civil society The arrival of African Americans in Anglo-America Witchcraft in the 17th century, including the witchcraft craze in Salem Village Prominent and representative Americans of the period, such as Pocahontas, John Smith, Edward Teach (Blackbeard), and Benjamin Franklin Education and its value to Anglo-Americans, including the founding of Harvard in 1636 Publishing and literature, including the colonies' first imprint in Cambridge, Massachusetts in early 1639, the publication of "Poor Richard's Almanac," and Boston's recognition as the cradle of colonial journalism The coming of age of American cities Boston, New York, Philadelphia, Charles Town, and Newport by the 1750s. A chronology of colonial American history through 1763 documents significant developments as well as events related to social customs, law, and the economy, such as the first American woman denied the right to vote (Martha Brent of Maryland in 1647), and the earliest antismoking legislation passed by Massachusetts Bay in 1646 (which forbade smoking in town as a fire hazard). To enhance readers' appreciation of this period, the text includes more than 100 illustrations and maps.
Call Number: REF E188 .P86 1999
ISBN: 9780816025275
Publication Date: 1999-06-01
Blackwell Encyclopedia of the American Revolution by Jack P. Greene (Editor); J. R. Pole (Editor) This encyclopedia, to which many of the foremost scholars in the field have contributed, describes clearly and readably the many different ideas and events that constitute what we know as the American Revolution. Equally suitable for browsing and as a reference source, and illustrated with many paintings, drawings and documents of the period, this substantial volume is likely to remain a standard work on the subject for many years to come.
Call Number: REF E208 .B635 1991
ISBN: 1557862443
Publication Date: 1992-04-15
Encyclopedia of the Continental Congresses by Mark Grossman (Editor) This new two-volume set provides an in-depth examination of the Congresses and their impact and role in the shaping and foundation of early American society and government.
Call Number: REF E303 .G76 2015
ISBN: 9781619251755
Publication Date: 2015-03-01
Encyclopedia of the American Civil War by David S. Heidler (Editor); Jeanne T. Heidler; David J. Coles The definitive reference work on the Civil War, this thorough and wide-ranging volume, rich with over 500 illustrations, 75 maps, and 250 primary source documents, offers more than 1,600 entries that chart the war's strategic aims, analyze diplomatic and political maneuvering, describe key military actions, sketch important participants, assess developments in military science, and discuss the social and financial impact of the conflict. Written by today's leading Civil War scholars, the essays are authoritative and easily accessible to anyone with a passion for American history.
Call Number: REF E468 .E53 2000
ISBN: 9780393047585
Publication Date: 2002-09-17

U.S. History to 1877

Librarian

Contact Us

America at the Turn of the Century Guide

About this Guide

Reference Books