Films and Media

In this program, world-renown anatomist Gunther von Hagens takes viewers into the inner workings of the respiratory and circulatory systems -- exposing the path that oxygen takes through the human body. Von Hagens dissects lung tissue to reveal alveoli, delves into the atria and ventricles of the he...

Meteorology, once the simple study of atmospheric events such as storms, hurricanes, tornadoes and temperature changes, has grown in the 21st century. This science now includes such disciplines as atmospheric chemistry and physics, climatology and global warming. This program presents the prin...

Defines climates and presents the relationships between climates and biomes, climates and people, and describes the six major climate types. Shows how weather extremes play a major role in each climate type.

Meteorology, once the simple study of atmospheric events such as storms, hurricanes, tornadoes and temperature changes, has grown in the 21st century. This science now includes such disciplines as atmospheric chemistry and physics, climatology and global warming. This program presents the prin...

This program describes the basics of administering oxygen to patients. It describes the use of both high and low flow delivery devices such as nasal cannula, simple masks, venturi masks and non-rebreather masks. Nursing considerations, infection control measures and safety measures are also describe...

The New York City Branch of Raizes do Brasil Capoeira, featured here, has successfully operated since 1997, where they've presented exhibitions and seminars for widely diverse groups. On this video, Brazilian Capoeira masters, professors Eduardo and Carnuaba Ferreira show you the exciting and d...

Takes students step-by-step through the entire process of constructing a roof: spans; hip and valley rafters; purlins; ceiling joists; and planking.

This video provides supportive strategies that boost the success of special needs learners. Exploring verbal and nonverbal communication through immediacy behaviors, the program shows how teachers can reduce the psychological distance between themselves and challenged students, with tangible...

Issues in cross-cultural communication are examined including public behavior, taboos, power, stereotyping, time conceptualization, socialization, direct and indirect communication and high context versus low context cultures.

Issues in cross-cultural communication are examined including public behavior, taboos, power, stereotyping, time conceptualization, socialization, direct and indirect communication and high context versus low context cultures.

Using dramatized scenarios, this program examines the different kinds of sexual harassment, defines the factors that motivate harassers, and provides specific techniques for dealing with the problem

Teaches the viewer how editors compile strips of film in order to create memorable moviegoing experiences. In addition to interviews with a variety of respected and award-winning editors, the movie offers clips from some of the most memorable films in the history of the artform.

Provides the setting for the understanding of the unfolding process of human development from the begining of life through adolescence.

Examines a wide range of ethical positions and allows the viewer to look at his/her own ethical standards.

Covers the important concepts, problems and processes in accounting.

Joyce Linden Groode, and her model signers, lead you through seven sections designed to improve and accelerate your mastery of: reading fingerspelled words as a whole unit; forming fingerspelled words fluidly and accurately; distinguishing between handshapes to speed up your "word capture"...

Provides a detailed review and explanation of the codes and standards by which interior wall and ceiling finishes are judged. Features which materials are: regulated; tested and classified per flame spread indexes; restricted based upon location; and how they may be applied.

Proper hand tool identification is essential for the safe & correct usage of any hand tool. A wide variety of screwdrivers, hammers, pliers, punches, & chisels are shown, identified, & discussed. Dr. Lon Shell's discussion includes proper names, distinguishing characteristics, safet...

Various types of wrenches (includes open-end, box-end, adjustable and torque), as well as sockets, ratchets and various accessories are featured. The names and distinguishing characteristics of each tool are discussed and its proper usage is demonstrated.

Names, distinguishing characteristics and proper usage are shown for micrometers, screw extractors, gasket and carbon scrapers, twist drills, reamers, drills, bits, taps and dies, as well as other general cold metal tools. Expert narration and safety tips accompany each tool.

Presents the legal liability issues of HIPAA, the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996. This act requires covered entities to ensure the privacy of Protected Health Information (PHI). The penalties for not protecting the confidentiality of PHI can range from a fine of $50,000...

Gives detailed information about the process of buying quality furniture. Topics include decisions to make before shopping, furniture construction, and different types of furniture.

Gives detailed information about the process of buying quality furniture. Topics include decisions to make before shopping, furniture construction, and different types of furniture.

These three 20- minute videos examine key constitutional concepts. The first explains why the nation's framers created the Constitution. The second describes the protection of individual rights by highlighting the Supreme Court case of Gideon v. Wainwright, affirming the right to an attor...

An indictment of the corporate irresponsibility of various Indian textile companies, who expose their workers to dangerous chemicals (long since banned in the developed world) and pollute their surrounding environments.

Examines Earth as a sphere, defines latitude and longitude and explores how this global referencing system is applied. The video follows the crew of a 30,000 ton container ship as they navigate their way around the globe.

https://i-share.carli.illinois.edu/vf-trt/Record/TRTdb.88872

This presentation addresses nursing and allied health professionals, and examines elements of professional behavior. The film covers communication with other health professionals, conflict management, and adherence to the chain of command. Also discussed are the value of presenting a professional...

Based on over 700 interviews in Mexican towns where about half the population has left to work in the United States, this documentary asks why so many Mexicans come to the U.S. and what happens to the families and communities they leave behind.

United States Supreme Court Justices Sandra Day O'Connor and Stephen Breyer talk about the Constitution with high school students and discuss why we have and need a constitution, what federalism is, how implicit and explicit rights are defined and how separation of powers ensures that no one br...

Using examples from around the globe, this video looks at how the world's resources are consumed by populations at different levels of economic and technological development....This video stresses the importance of ecological sustainability, and prompts students to think about the opportu...

While some eye infections are common and treatable-such as conjunctivitis, or pinkeye-other infections are more serious and, in a matter of hours, can totally destroy a patient's eyesight. This program features case studies involving typical and extreme eye infections, explores ways to prevent...

Real students discuss some of the choices they've made, what the consequences were, how it made them feel and how it affected their lives. Through this kind of discussion, teens recognize themselves in others and begin to think about their own decisions. An expert offers useful insights...

Includes information on personal protective equipment, tool safety, electrical safety, hazard communication, ladder safety, scaffold safety.

Teaches the viewer American sign language used by hearing-impaired people, including the alphabet, numbers, basic signs, and vocabulary in a variety of subjects.

Teaches the essential principles of food safety in a food service setting.

A humorous treatment of the study of philosophy, pivoting on the question of what is right and wrong. Centers on a high-school class discussion of the ethics involved in a true-to-life, hypothetical situation.

According to the U.S. Department of Education, over 70 million people owe an average student debt of over $22,000. Sudden changes in lender rates and terms can turn that debt into a financial sinkhole. NOW follows the story of a single mother in Baltimore trying to dig herself out of $70,000 in stud...

Learn about commonly used masonry tools, detailed tasks, and on-the-job safety.

Take a look at the tools and construction materials carpenters depend on every day. Also see a variety of carpentry tools, types of carpenters, and safety.

An introduction to the manufacture, construction, properties and uses of different types of fabric.

In Uta Hagen's acting class, the revered actress explains and personally demonstrates her approach to acting. The videos put you in a front-row seat for carefully edited teaching examples selected from almost two hundred hours of recorded classes. Scenes as well as all ten of her famous &...

This outstanding program provides a concise demonstration of axonometric, isometric, and one-point and two-point perspective drawing