LibGuides: Sport/Exercise Psychology: Books

Using the New Library Search

Using the New Library Search
Follow this guide to search for books in the Triton College Library catalog.

Ask-a-librarian

When finished, select "Clear Chat History" at the top of the box.

Chat reference service is available during Library Hours.

If offline, call 708-456-0300 ext. 3698 or email librarians@triton.edu.

Library Search

Search for library books, articles, journals, and more.

Using the Library Search

Search the library's catalog for books.

Using the Library Search

Can't find the book you need? Search I-Share to request a book from a different college library.

Using the Library Search

Library Account Log-in

Login to your library account using your MyTriton Portal username (WITH @triton.edu) and password. Further instructions are available on the MyTriton Portal page.

Keywords

Sport Psychology
Exercise Psychology
Sports Medicine
Physical Fitness
Sports--Physiological aspects
Sports--Psychological aspects

Recommended Books

Sport Psychology by Mark H. Anshel Sport Psychology, 5th Edition provides a comprehensive overview of sport and exercise psychology. This text outlines the theoretical framework and provides the necessary psychological foundation of sport psychology while offering students a real-life handbook approach to using psychological strategies as a sport participant and coach. This unique book stresses an applied approach to the field and presents scientific research and empirical data without the use of technical jargon. The 5th Edition features substantial content updates, a new organisation that better lends itself to classroom use, and case studies for additional real world application.  
Call Number: GV706.4 .A57 2012
ISBN: 9780321732491
Publication Date: 2011-06-16
Pure Sport by John Kremer; Aidan P. Moran Should you always "think about it"? Are you "only as good as your last game"? Is it just a matter of "keeping your eye on the ball"? The answer to these questions is no, and to help you steer a course through the many challenges of a sporting career this second edition of Pure Sport sets out, in everyday language, the lessons you can take from contemporary sport psychology - helping you recognise what works and what doesn't when it comes to improving performance. As the title suggests, Pure Sport goes back to basics by highlighting practical concerns for those involved with competitive sport at every age and level - from junior club members to Olympic athletes. Drawing on their considerable experience as both applied sport psychologists and academics, the authors present practical advice and a powerful array of techniques for channelling and harnessing mental skills with the goal of improving sporting performance. Drawing on the international popularity of the first edition, in this fully updated second edition the authors have taken the opportunity to revamp chapters with colour photographs, contemporary examples, and sporting anecdotes, and the book is now even more accessible for those without a formal background in psychology. Pure Sport, Second Edition is essential reading for anyone with an active involvement or interest in sport, it will help students, coaches, teams, and sportsmen and women to sharpen their mental edge and so realise their true potential in sport and through sport.
Call Number: GV706.4 .K744 2013
ISBN: 9780415525251
Publication Date: 2013-08-07
Foundations of Sport and Exercise Psychology by Robert S. Weinberg; Daniel Gould An emphasis on the educational journey that students take through the field of sport and exercise psychology, helping them envision where they can be most successful in the field - Thoroughly updated material that reflects the latest research and practice to keep readers aware of recent findings and hot topics in the field - New sidebars with contemporary practical examples, case studies, and anecdotes to help students understand various theories and concepts Foundations of Sport and Exercise Psychology, Fifth Edition, provides students with a unique learning experience, taking them on a journey through the origins and goals, key concepts, research development, and career options available in the field. The book contains seven parts that may be studied in any sequence. Part I introduces students to the field, detailing its history, current status, and the various roles of sport and exercise psychologists. Part II focuses on personal factors that affect performance and psychological development in sport, physical education, and exercise settings. In part III, the authors focus on two major classes of situational factors that influence behavior: competition and cooperation, and feedback and reinforcement. Part IV focuses on group interaction and processes, while part V discusses how psychological techniques may be used to help people perform more effectively. Part VI addresses the various roles psychological factors play in health and exercise. The final section, part VII, deals with topics of psychological development and well-being that are important to both society and sport and exercise psychology, including children's psychological development through sport participation, aggression in sport, and moral development and good sporting behavior in sport and physical activity contexts.
Call Number: GV706.4 .W38 2011
ISBN: 9780736083232
Publication Date: 2010-11-15
Social Sciences in Sport by Joseph Maguire Social Sciences in Sport presents discipline-specific knowledge in the social sciences, which aids in understanding the problems and potential of contemporary sport practices and experiences. This interdisciplinary reference provides in-depth coverage of sport studies and 14 social sciences, drawing connections across these disciplines to illuminate key issues and illustrate possibilities for change. Written by leading figures in the social sciences, the book synthesizes theory and research in social science and sport into four distinct areas: * Identity, which discusses individual development and ethical considerations from history, philosophy, and psychology * Community, which considers anthropology, sociology, geography, and media studies when looking at sport in social groups * Capital, which draws research in status, wealth, power, and resources from economics, political science, and international relations * Governance, which discusses the enhancement of sport through law, social policy, management studies, and education Organized around these topics into four parts, this reference places sport in the broader social sciences, showing where researchers in kinesiology and other disciplines can augment their knowledge base. Noting the range of issues and concerns in today's sport environment, readers will analyze the potential of a human development model in sport studies. Editor Joseph Maguire and an esteemed team of contributors present the evolution of sport in various social sciences. A stage-setting introduction explains the relevance of a social scientific perspective on sport and physical activity, and part introductions outline many relationships between the social sciences and sport.
Call Number: GV706.5 .S642 2014
ISBN: 9780736089586
Publication Date: 2014-01-02
Sport Psychology by Mark H. Anshel Sport Psychology, 5th Edition provides a comprehensive overview of sport and exercise psychology. This text outlines the theoretical framework and provides the necessary psychological foundation of sport psychology while offering students a real-life handbook approach to using psychological strategies as a sport participant and coach. This unique book stresses an applied approach to the field and presents scientific research and empirical data without the use of technical jargon. The 5th Edition features substantial content updates, a new organisation that better lends itself to classroom use, and case studies for additional real world application.  
Call Number: RA781 .B83 2013
ISBN: 9780321732491
Publication Date: 2011-06-16