LibGuides: Sociology: Background Information

Background Information

What is Sociology? According to Encyclopedia of Postmodernism, "Sociology is the study of human beings in relation to the groups, organizations and institutions affecting their lives. The sociological perspective encompasses a number of analytic tools designed to look beyond the obvious aspects of everyday life and to detect new levels of reality. As a member of the social sciences, which also include anthropology, economics, political science and psychology, sociology is rooted in moral philosophy..." (Credo)

What are the sociological concepts? Functionalism, Marxism, Feminism, Social Action Theory and Postmodernism.

What are the branches of sociology? Theoretical Sociologist, Historical Sociology, Sociology of Knowledge, Criminology, Sociology of Religion, Sociology of Economy, Rural Sociology, Urban Sociology, Political Sociology, Sociology of Demography, Sociology of Law,
Industrial Sociology.

Reference Books

Sociology in Modules by Richard T. Schaefer Why Modules? We listened to the increasing demand of instructors for more flexibility with teaching materials. "Sociology in Modules" provides an appealing alternative for those instructors who feel that breaking up each chapter into 2-4 modules would allow them to assign the content they want in the order that they want. This modular format was also created to cater to the way in which students learn. Using an adaptive diagnostic tool to help students identify what they know and don't know, "Sociology in Modules" helps students move towards an understanding of the foundations (theory) of sociology by presenting material in more manageable chunks. Instead of facing long and daunting chapters, modules encourage student reading and end of module pedagogy reinforces key concepts. Richard Schaefer has adapted his proven content to meet the changing needs of instructors and students. "Sociology in Modules" is the most flexible program for teaching and learning sociology. Prepare your students to take sociology with them...one module at a time.
Call Number: Reserves--Library Circ. Desk HM585 .S3243 2020
ISBN: 9781260074956
Publication Date: 2018-11-01
Sociology by Richard T. Schaefer The new edition of "Sociology" helps students take Sociology with them on campus, in their careers, and in their communities. While still maintaining its well-balanced coverage of the 3 perspectives, this new revision has a strong focus on encouraging students to think about their world with a sociological imagination. Through its strong coverage of globalization, race and ethnicity, careers in sociology, and current topics like mass media and social policy, "Sociology" provides students with knowledge they can use at school, at work, in their neighborhoods, and in the global community.
Call Number: Reserves--Library Circ. Desk HM585 .S324 2012
ISBN: 9780078026669
Publication Date: 2011-09-20
Sociology by John J. Macionis Seeing Sociology in your Everyday Life Sociology, 15/e empowers students to see the world around them through a sociological lens, helping them better understand their own lives. The text is written to help students find and use the science of social behavior in everyday life. John Macionis, author of the best-selling Introductory Sociology franchise over the last three decades, takes students step-by-step through the theories and research that make up the discipline of sociology. This narrative, along with a global perspective, makes for an accessible and relevant introduction to sociology. MySocLab is an integral part of the Macionis learning program. In concert with the main text, it helps readers build their critical thinking skills while learning the fundamentals of sociology. Engaging activities and reliable assessments provide a digital learning system that helps students succeed in the course. With MySocLab, students can watch the latest entries in the Core Concept Video Series in sociology, explore real-world data through the new Social Explorer, and develop critical thinking skills through facilitated writing activities. Teaching and Learning Experience This program will provide a better teaching and learning experience--for you and your students. It: Personalizes Learning with MySocLab: MySocLab is an online homework, tutorial, and assessment program. It helps students prepare for class and instructor gauge individual and class performance. Improves Critical Thinking: A new learning system includes detailed objectives linked to the narrative, media resources, and assessment program. Engages Students: Allows students to gain insight into sociology. Connects to the World Today: This title encourages students to connect themes through the title to their own lives. Sociology, Fifteenth Edition is also available via REVEL(tm), an immersive learning experience designed for the way today's students read, think, and learn. Note: This is the standalone book, if you want the book/access card order the ISBN below: 0205988350 / 9780205988358 Sociology Plus NEW MySocLab with Pearson eText -- Access Card Package Package consists of: 0205206530 / 9780205206537 NEW MySocLab with Pearson eText -- Valuepack Access Card 0205985602 / 9780205985609 Sociology
Call Number: HM586 .M33 2014
ISBN: 9780205985609
Publication Date: 2013-10-09

What's in this Guide

This guide provides information on Sociology

Reference Sources
Print and online reference sources to give you background information on topics.
Finding Books
Information on how to search for books using the Triton Library's Book Catalog & the IShare Catalog.
Finding Articles
Information on how to access article databases to search for articles.
Selected Websites
A selection of web resources.
Citation Sources/Tools
Links to a separate guide with sources & tools to help you cite and format your sources.

Recent Arrivals

Blind to Sameness by Asia Friedman
Call Number: BF692.2 .F75 2013
ISBN: 9780226023465
Publication Date: 2013-07-15
Do Federal Social Programs Work? by David B. Muhlhausen
Call Number: HV95 .M845 2013
ISBN: 9781440828034
Social Conquest of Earth by Edward O. Wilson
Call Number: GN360 .W53 2013
ISBN: 0871403633
Publication Date: 2013-04-15
Solution Revolution by William D. Eggers; Paul Macmillan
Call Number: HD60 .E337 2013
ISBN: 9781422192191
Publication Date: 2013-09-17
What Should We Be Worried About? by John Brockman
Call Number: HM901 .W52 2014
ISBN: 9780062296238
Publication Date: 2014-02-11
Writing on the Wall by Tom Standage
Call Number: HM1206 .S72 2013
ISBN: 1620402831
Publication Date: 2013-10-15
Voice Male by Rob A. Okun (Editor); Michael S. Kimmel (Foreword by)
Call Number: HQ1090 .V65 2014
ISBN: 9781566569446
Publication Date: 2013-10-31

Sociology

Librarian

Contact Us

Background Information

Reference Books

What's in this Guide

Recent Arrivals