Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Black History Month : Coretta Scott King Award Winners

What is the Coretta Scott King Award?

The Coretta Scott King Award is given annually by ALA's Ethnic & Multicultural Information Exchange Round Table. The award is named for Coretta Scott King, wife of Martin Luther King Jr., and is given to authors and illustrators that best portray the experience of African American children or teens in literature. 

Read about the 50th Anniversary of the Coretta Scott King Award here

ALA also has a complete list of all winners since 1970, see it here

Find Books


Chat loading...

When finished, select "Clear Chat History" at the top of the box.

Chat reference service is available during Library Hours.

If offline, call 708-456-0300 ext. 3215 or email

Coretta Scott King Winners

Here is a list of Coretta Scott King winners through the years. The titles can be found in OverDrive or as psychical books in the library. Other books can be requested through I-Share or your local library. You can search OverDrive and the Triton Library Catalog by subject for "Coretta Scott King Award" and you will find the books that we own that have won the award. 

Read or Listen Through OverDrive